Day 2.

Today’s biggest challenge – aside from the fact that it was Monday and I couldn’t sleep in – was probably mid-morning, between breakfast and lunch. I usually chomp on something during that dreaded in-between time – and it’s usually something I end up regretting – but I had to refrain today. Instead, I drank a lot of water (which I do anyway) and had a few cups of green tea (which I also do anyway). I also woke up later than I’d anticipated, but fortunately, I’ve grown somewhat accustomed to making myself omelets for breakfast, so that wasn’t really an issue.

Breakfast

On the menu: Omelet made with 3 egg whites and 1 yolk; sliced tomato; 1/2 cup blueberries.

The reality: Omelet made with 3 egg whites and 1 yolk, with a little steamed spinach, 1/2 sliced tomato, and a little parmigiano reggiano; 1/2 cup blueberries.

Summary: I love omelets, but plain ones are not that exciting, and I really prefer to have some cheese in there. Dr. Perricone approves of both feta and parmesan, so I figured a little parmigiano reggiano wouldn’t hurt. I added the spinach because… well, it was pretty, and I like spinach.

Lunch

On the menu: 3 ounces baked salmon; green salad with tomatoes, cucumbers, onions and 2 tablespoons chickpeas; dress with olive oil, lemon juice and garlic.

The reality: 3 ounces baked mojito salmon (last night’s leftovers); green salad with tomatoes, basil, cucumbers, onions, and 2 tablespoons three-bean salad; dressed with olive oil, lemon juice and garlic.

Summary: I still don’t love how dry that poor mojito salmon turned out, and microwaving certainly didn’t help matters much. I used the three-bean salad because I made a fairly large batch of it on Saturday and I didn’t want to be wasteful; also, I’m suffering from a severe lack of chickpeas.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 1/2 cup cottage cheese; 4 almonds; 4 endives.

The reality: 1/2 cup cottage cheese with cinnamon and Splenda; 4 wasabi and soy almonds; 1/2 apple.

Summary: I like my cottage cheese with a sweeter flavor, so I added cinnamon (which is good for you) and Splenda (probably not the best thing ever, but I prefer it to Stevia). I have a bunch of wasabi and soy-flavored almonds at work, so I just ate those. I also had apple slices at work, and since I hadn’t been able to find the endives this weekend, I decided half an apple was a suitable replacement; also, it goes well with the cottage cheese.

Dinner

On the menu: 4 ounces baked or grilled halibut; 1 cup chicken-vegetable soup; salad of romaine lettuce, chopped avocado, tomato, green onion and celery; dress with olive oil and lemon juice.

The reality: 4 ounces TJ’s misoyaki turbot; 1 cup chicken-vegetable soup; salad of romaine lettuce, chopped avocado, tomato, green onion and celery, with a little parmigiano reggiano; dressed with olive oil, lemon juice and garlic.

Summary: While my trip to Trader Joe’s this weekend was fruitful, it did not result in any halibut filets. In fact, the only halibut I found was breaded, and I figured that was not the most nutritious option; instead, I decided on the turbot, which I’ve learned from previous experience is quite delicious.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 6 whole almonds; small peach or nectarine.

The reality: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 6 Tuscan-style almonds; small peach.

Summary: I really love those almonds…

Today’s Exercise

The round-trip walk to work – about two miles – plus two minutes stationary bike and 35 minutes of moderately intense elliptical. So, a pretty good day. Probably burned around 550 calories total.

Summary

The great thing about this diet so far? I haven’t felt hungry all day. At all. In fact, I feel like I’m just continuously eating. My mom felt the same way when she was doing this and she ended up losing twelve pounds. Pretty crazy, right?

Anyway… I’d call day 2 a success. Time to make lunch for tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

