Day 4.

One of the first things I did this morning was measure my waist, just to see if there was any difference. I seem to have lost 0.5″ (from 24.5″) since Saturday, which I wouldn’t believe if my mom hadn’t told me how quickly she shrunk last time she did this. So, yay! I won’t weigh myself until this is over, or at least until my waist gets down to its smallest, which would require losing another 0.5.” At this rate, that should be Saturday… haha.

Breakfast

On the menu: 2 slices turkey bacon; 2 poached egg whites with one yolk; 1/4 cup steel-cut oats; 1/2 cup blueberries.

The reality: 2 slices turkey bacon; 2 poached egg whites with one yolk and a little salt and pepper; 1/4 cup steel-cut oats with Splenda, cinnamon and a tiny bit of coconut oil; 1/2 cup blueberries.

Summary: I had to look at the menu about four times to make sure this was actually what I was supposed to be eating. I mean, seriously – this was a huge breakfast with a lot of protein. Alas, there were no misprints – this was, in fact, the Day 4 breakfast. I learned how to poach an egg, too, so that was fun. I wasn’t even 100% sure what a poached egg was before I Googled it this morning. Oh, and I mixed the blueberries in with the oatmeal because that’s what my mom does, and my mom is always right.

Lunch

On the menu: 4 ounces grilled chicken salad (made with fresh dill, chopped red onion, garlic and olive oil); 1/2 cup steamed asparagus; 1/2 cup strawberries.

The reality: 4 ounces grilled chicken salad (made with dried dill, chopped red onion, garlic and olive oil); 1/2 cup steamed asparagus; 1/2 cup strawberries.

Summary: I know I didn’t steam the asparagus right. I think I more shriveled it than steamed it… I really didn’t know what I was doing. Sigh. It tasted okay, but I won’t be doing that again.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 4 cherry tomatoes; 4 almonds.

The reality: 1 ounce sliced turkey breast, 1 ounce chicken breast; 4 cherry tomatoes; 4 almonds.

Summary: The turkey breast came in a container with 3 1/2 servings, which is kind of ridiculous, so I had to supplement the turkey with some chicken to get enough protein with this meal. I think they’re roughly equivalent anyway, so shouldn’t make a huge difference, if at all.

Dinner

On the menu: 6 ounces filet of sole, cod or scrod; 8 oven-roasted brussels sprouts with apples; romaine lettuce salad with 2 ounces chickpeas, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic.

The reality: 6 ounces leftover misoyaki turbot; 8 microwaveable brussels sprouts with coconut oil; romaine lettuce salad with 2 tablespoons three-bean salad, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic.

Summary: The impractical thing about this meal plan is how much food it wastes if you’re living alone and following it to the letter. I do have cod; however, I have 12 ounces of it in the freezer and if I defrost any of it, it has to be all of it. Anyway, my reasoning is that the turbot is also a white fish. As for the chickpeas (a.k.a., three-bean salad), I think 2 ounces is roughly equivalent to 2 tablespoons (about 1/8 cup), so that’s why that happened. As for the brussels sprouts… I didn’t feel like using the oven. So there.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces salmon; 2 tablespoons three-bean salad.

The reality: 2 ounces baked salmon (from last night’s leftovers); 2 tablespoons three-bean salad.

Summary: What, no almonds? Sadness. I am, however, glad I got some salmon today… yum.

Today’s Exercise

Walking to and from work. Oh, and wandering around Nordstrom Rack. What? My legs are still sore from yesterday’s workout, I needed some retail therapy.

Summary

I think this is working, but I was cranky today (largely because of work), so it’s hard to tell. I was friendly to my coworkers, though – or at least, tried to be – so that was new. I’m glad I took a day off from exercise, but I’ll get back to it tomorrow. Poaching the eggs was fun. And dinner was really easy, but it made me quite happy… I love brussels sprouts. I like that I don’t feel hungry… ever. That’s a plus. Hopefully this works for me the way it worked for my mom. If so, I think it would be fairly easy to continue eating this way.

Leave a Reply

