Day 5.

Breakfast 

On the menu: 2 ounces smoked salmon; 1/4 cup steel-cut oats seasoned with cinnamon; 1/2 cup blueberries; 4 almonds.

The reality: 2 ounces smoked salmon; 1/4 cup steel-cut oats, seasoned with cinnamon and Splenda; 1/2 cup blueberries; 4 almonds.

Summary: I think the original meal plan called for 4 ounces smoked salmon, but that seemed like a lot. Dr. Perricone also wanted me to have cantaloupe (not blueberries), but I’m slightly allergic to melon, so that wasn’t going to happen. This version is definitely up there on my list of favorite breakfasts, so it was a good morning.

Lunch

On the menu: 4 ounces salmon salad (finely cubed salmon filet; dress with lemon juice, olive oil, and dill); a few leaves of romaine lettuce; 1/2 cup lentil soup.

The reality: 4 ounces marinated, baked salmon; a small romaine lettuce salad dressed with lemon juice, olive oil, and dill; 1/2 cup lentil soup.

Summary: The salmon salad wouldn’t have been quite right with the marinated salmon, so I opted for salmon by itself with a little salad. Same ingredients, different combinations.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 1/2 cup strawberries; 4 almonds.

The reality: 2 ounces chicken breast; 1/2 cup strawberries; 4 wasabi-soy almonds.

Summary: I ran out of turkey breast, but I have lots of chicken… poultry is poultry, right?

Dinner

On the menu: 1 roasted chicken breast; 1/2 cup grilled zucchini; 1/2 cup three-bean salad.

The reality: About 1/3 package of TJ’s Chicken Serenada; 1/2 cup TJ’s Misto alla Griglio (grilled eggplant & zucchini); 1/2 cup three-bean salad.

Summary: It was a lazy dinner, I know. The preparation mainly consisted of microwaving and scooping. I had just woken up from an accidental post-workout nap and didn’t want to put a lot of effort into my meal. Despite that, it was yummy. Trader Joe’s seldom disappoints.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces cold filet of sole, cod or scrod; 3 almonds; 3 cherry tomatoes.

The reality: 2 ounces turbot; 3 almonds; 3 cherry tomatoes.

Summary: Well, I still had all this leftover turbot…

Today’s Exercise

I managed to make it through the walk to and from work, naturally; and in the rain, yuck! I then forced myself to spend the entire 35 minutes on the elliptical machine, even though I really just wanted to take a nap (which I did when I got upstairs). I have to remind myself sometimes that I feel so much better about everything when I just take the time to go to the gym – it makes a huge difference.

Summary

It was a productive day. I was really happy to be able to have salmon with breakfast and lunch – what a treat. I was lazy about dinner, but that’s okay, it was still delicious. I sure wish the weather would get better, though. This rain stuff is really bumming me out. Isn’t it supposed to be spring? Seriously. I think that’s what’s making me feel so tired. Fortunately, the exercise helps. Maybe I’ll up my vitamin D dosage tomorrow.

I may have snacked on some unsanctioned parmigiano reggiano right after my bedtime snack. I was craving cheese. It was either that or chocolate, so I probably made the right choice.

Leave a Reply

