Day 7.

Ah, Saturday. I love Saturdays. There’s an overwhelming sense of freedom and relaxation that accompanies every Saturday morning, shortly after awakening to the alarm that I forgot to turn off the night before and realizing that it is not, in fact, yet another day that I have to get up at an ungodly hour and go to work. I love that unscheduled feeling – the entire day is mine to do with as I choose. Today, I chose to wake up with the Food Network and then casually wander around every kitchen-related store in downtown Seattle. And perhaps some clothing-related stores as well.

Breakfast

On the menu: 2 ounces smoked salmon; 1/4 cup steel-cut oats; 1/2 cup strawberries.

The reality: 2 ounces smoked salmon; 1/4 cup steel-cut oats with Splenda and cinnamon; 1/2 cup strawberries and blueberries.

Summary: I felt the need to attempt to use the rest of my blueberries before they go bad, so I threw a few of those in there. This was another meal that was supposed to include cantaloupe, so the strawberries themselves were already a substitution.

Lunch

On the menu: Crabmeat salad made with a 6-ounce can of crabmeat, 1 chopped scallion, 1 chopped celery rib; dress with 1/4 cup yogurt, juice of 1/2 lemon; serve inside 1/2 avocado; 1 cup strawberries.

The reality: Crabmeat salad made with a 6-ounce can of crabmeat, 1 chopped scallion, 1 chopped celery rib; dress with 1/4 cup yogurt, juice of 1/2 lemon; 1/2 avocado; 1 cup strawberries.

Summary: There was no way that crabmeat would fit in half an avocado. I don’t know how that was supposed to happen.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 1/2 cup cottage cheese; 4 almonds; 1 apple.

The reality: 1/2 cup cottage cheese with cinnamon and Splenda; 4 Tuscan almonds; 1 apple.

Summary: Yay! Cottage cheese!

Dinner

On the menu: Grilled chicken breast; 3/4 cup roasted or sauteed mushrooms and grilled zucchini; romaine lettuce salad with sliced tomatoes and fresh basil with 1 ounce grated parmesan cheese, dressed with olive oil and lemon juice; 1/2 cup berries.

The reality: Vietnamese-style caramel-braised chicken (recipe from Fine Cooking); 1/2 cup TJ’s grilled zucchini & eggplant; romaine lettuce salad with sliced tomatoes, mushrooms, and parmigiano reggiano, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic; 1/2 cup blueberries and strawberries.

Summary: I felt like doing some actual cooking, and I’d been wanting to try this chicken recipe for awhile, so that’s what happened. I also wanted to use up at least some of my leftovers (I have sooooo many), so I had the grilled zucchini and eggplant from the other night; I made up for the lack of sauteed mushrooms by putting mushroom in my salad. It was an eclectic meal, but quite a good one.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 3 almonds; 1 pear.

The reality: 2 ounces cold turbot; 3 Tuscan almonds; 1/2 apple.

Summary: No more turkey, but just enough turbot; pears went bad. Sad face. But the apple was delicious…

Today’s Exercise

I walked through Pike Place to Nordstrom Rack to Pacific Place and back home through the market… probably somewhere around 2 miles, more if you include the wandering around inside the stores and the trying on of things (FYI, I wear a 00 now at White House Black Market, and I got a great deal on Rock & Republic jeans). I also managed to squeeze in 20 minutes on the elliptical, even though my legs are sore from yesterday’s high-energy workout.

Summary

I feel fantastic. I know I’m shrinking, too – I don’t need a scale to tell me that. My clothes are fitting better, and I’m extremely pleased with the 00 dress I put on with ease (I bought it – I had to, it looks really good on me). This was a big deal, since I fit similarly in a size 0 dress that I purchased at the same store in the same style back in February. In fact, that dress fit a little tighter. My measurements today? Waist – 23.5, hips – 34.5. Oh yes.

On tomorrow’s agenda: groceries! Oh how I love grocery day.

Leave a Reply

