Day 8.

Breakfast

On the menu: 2 slices turkey bacon; 1/2 cup cottage cheese; 1/2 cup blueberries.

The reality: 2 slices turkey bacon; 1/2 cup cottage cheese with cinnamon and Splenda; 1/2 cup blueberries.

Summary: I made the turkey bacon extra-crispy today – good stuff. My groceries showed up while I was making breakfast and I very nearly forgot to take my vitamins. Oopsies.

Lunch

On the menu: 3-ounce can water-packed tuna; 1/2 cup lentil soup; romaine lettuce salad with chopped tomato and red onion, dressed with olive oil and lemon juice.

The reality: 3-ounce can water-packed tuna with a little salt, pepper, and light mayo; 1/2 cup TJ’s fresh lentil soup; romaine lettuce salad with chopped tomato and red onion, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice and garlic.

Summary: I could eat plain canned tuna, but what fun would that be? The lentil soup was much more delicious than the homemade version I had last week – Trader Joe knows what he’s doing.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces smoked salmon; 1/2 cup strawberries.

The reality: 2 ounces smoked salmon; 1/2 cup strawberries.

Summary: Easy enough.

Dinner

On the menu: 6 ounces scallops with garlic and parsley (make 8 ounces and save 2 for lunch tomorrow); Mediterranean chopped salad with 1/2 cup chickpeas; 1/2 cup green beans.

The reality: 6 ounces Spicy Scallops with Lime & Chile; pre-made Mediterranean chopped salad from Trader Joe’s, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice and garlic, with 1/2 cup chickpeas; 1/2 cup green beans.

Summary: The scallops with garlic and parsley was a recipe in Perricone’s book, and thus far, I have been less than impressed with his recipes (with the exception of the chicken vegetable soup); I also wanted to do something a little more involved than “saute garlic and scallops; top with parsley.” This stir-fry had fairly low-impact ingredients and sounded yummy, so I tried it. It was pretty good – I think it will make for good leftovers tomorrow, too. As for the salad? Trader Joe’s had something comparable, so I just used that. I tried to keep the goat cheese and walnuts out of the mix, but some of it snuck in there… sneaky little buggers.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 4 almonds; 1 apple.

The reality: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 4 cinnamon almonds; 1 apple.

Summary: Trader Joe’s had these delicious-looking cinnamon almonds that I thought would be perfect for the after-dinner snack. Turns out, they are! I’m sure they have sugar, but it’s only a few almonds, so I think it’s okay. It would be a very different story if I were to, say, eat the whole bag…

Today’s Exercise

I took today off from exercising. You know, lazy Sunday.

Summary

Still feeling really good. My mom and I talked about the endive substitution thing (because I seem to be having such a hard time tracking them down) and she brought up the excellent point that I should probably be substituting a vegetable with another vegetable, not a fruit… oops. I can’t believe I didn’t think of that. So maybe I will try lettuce leaves or something instead.

I’ll wait until next Saturday to say this for certain, but I may end up continuing this diet for a few more weeks, at least. It is a little inflexible when it comes to eating out and special occasions, so that’s one negative thing, but I do like that I can plan out all my meals for the week. It’s a formula; I like formulas. And I like that I never feel hungry. I think it’s something I can continue most of the time, and maybe one day every few weeks I can take the day off…? We’ll see. For now, it’s definitely working out well.

Leave a Reply

