Day 9.

I woke up at around 4:30 this morning ready to start my day. This is extraordinary behavior for me, considering I usually feel the urge to sleep right through my alarm until about 6, when I crankily and sluggishly arise from a peaceful slumber only to realize that I have less time to get ready for work than I had initially planned.

Breakfast

On the menu: Omelet made with 3-4 egg whites and 1 yolk (add a few sliced mushrooms, if desired); 1/4 cup steel-cut oats; 3 almonds.

The reality: Omelet made with 3 egg whites and 1 yolk, plus one sliced mushroom, a few spinach leaves, and a little feta; 1/4 cup steel-cut oats with Splenda and cinnamon; 3 cinnamon almonds.

Summary: To me, omelets are just wrong without a little cheese, and I really like spinach. Both feta and spinach are on Perricone’s happy list, so it should be fine.

Lunch

On the menu: Scallop salad (2 ounces scallops from last night’s dinner), dressed with olive oil, lemon juice, chopped red onion and dill; 1/2 cup three-bean salad.

The reality: 2 ounces leftover scallops; 1/2 cup three-bean salad with chopped red onion.

Summary: The scallops were still yummy, but the three-bean salad had too much chopped red onion. Also, I was so distracted by work that I forgot to take a picture. You’ll just have to take my word for it.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces smoked salmon; 3 endives; 4 almonds.

The reality: 2 ounces peppered smoked salmon; 3 endives; 4 wasabi-soy almonds.

Summary: Trader Joe’s didn’t have plain smoked salmon, so I got the peppered kind instead. Yum. The endives were a fluke; that chopped salad I got from TJ’s happened to contain 4 endives and I ate one yesterday, so that worked out well for me. However, I am still on my never-ending quest for endives – stopped by the IGA on my way to work this morning and they weren’t there, either. Why must they be so elusive?

Dinner

On the menu: 6 ounces grilled salmon; 1/2 cup Cuban black bean soup; romaine salad dressed with olive oil and lemon juice; 1/2 cup berries.

The reality: 6 ounces baked Trader Joe’s chimichurri salmon; 1/2 cup TJ’s Cuban black bean soup; TJ’s chopped salad with feta cheese, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice and garlic; 1/2 cup strawberries and blueberries.

Summary: Trader Jose (yes, Jose) took over my dinner with his delicious Argentine-flavored salmon and his organic black bean soup. Once again, I managed to avoid the non-Perricone-approved ingredients in the pre-made salad, although I did add some feta (just a little). I was really happy with the meal.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 1/2 cup cottage cheese; 1/2 cup strawberries; 4 almonds.

The reality: 1/2 cup cottage cheese with cinnamon and Splenda; 1/2 cup strawberries; 4 cinnamon almonds.

Today’s Exercise

I really only walked to and from work, then spent 10 minutes on the elliptical – it was another lazy day (although not as lazy as yesterday). I got up so early that I was absolutely wiped out by the afternoon and all I wanted to do was lay down on the couch and watch season 4 of Mad Men. That came later.

Summary

I wish I had slept a little more today. I’m starting to get excited about Sunday, when I finally get a day to eat whatever I want – not that I’m not eating exceptionally well right now, but I’m starting to feel like I need a little break from this routine. Or maybe I’m just sleepy. I’ll probably feel better tomorrow, provided I get a little more sleep tonight.

Leave a Reply

