Day 10.

I managed to sleep past 4:30 this morning, thank goodness. That made the day a little bit easier to get through.

Breakfast

On the menu: 2 slices turkey bacon; 1 cup plain yogurt; 1/2 cup strawberries; 3 almonds.

The reality: 2 slices turkey bacon; 1 cup plain yogurt with cinnamon and Splenda; 1/2 cup strawberries; 3 cinnamon almonds.

Summary: Mmmm, crispy bacon. The yogurt was a nice change of pace, too.

Lunch

On the menu: 4 to 6 ounces grilled chicken; 1/2 cup vegetable barley soup; large green salad with sliced tomatoes; 1/2 cup strawberries.

The reality: 4 ounces Vietnamese-Style Caramel Braised Chicken; 1/2 cup lentil soup; the remainder of the chopped salad with some extra romaine and 1/2 sliced tomato; 1/2 cup strawberries.

Summary: I still have a bunch of leftovers and am trying to use them, so that’s how this meal came to be. It was yummy. I don’t know exactly how much chicken that was, though. Maybe 4 ounces? It looked like 4 ounces… maybe I should pick up a food scale.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 1 hard-boiled egg; 1/2 cup blueberries; 4 almonds.

The reality: 1 hard-boiled egg with a little salt and pepper; 1/2 cup blueberries; 4 wasabi-soy almonds.

Summary: I don’t like eating hard-boiled eggs plain. So there.

Dinner

On the menu: 6 ounces broiled flounder filet; tricolor salad (arugula, radicchio, and endive) with 1/2 cup kidney beans or soybeans, dressed with olive oil and lemon juice; sauteed spinach.

The reality: 6 ounces baked stuffed flounder from Trader Joe’s; baby romaine lettuce salad with 1/2 cup chickpeas, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice and garlic, topped with a tiny bit of feta; sauteed spinach.

Summary: Yum! I loved the stuffed flounder (stuffed with crabmeat, by the way). I’ve never baked it before, I usually just toss it in the microwave, but this time I wrapped it in parchment paper and baked it for 25 minutes. The mixed greens salad I picked up at TJ’s on Sunday already went bad, so I had to substitute with romaine, and I didn’t have kidney beans or soybeans, so I just used the chickpeas. Also… I heart feta.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 4 almonds; 1 peach.

The reality: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 4 Tuscan almonds; 1 apple.

Summary: Peaches are now officially out of season, so I had an apple.

Today’s Exercise

The sun was out! It was still a little chilly, but the ball of fire lit up the sky this afternoon, so I had to go for a walk. I walked a total of 6 miles today.

Summary

For some reason, I felt really tired and distractable for most of the day, until I got outside after work and got to go for my walk. I was still feeling pretty lazy, though. Don’t know what that is. Hopefully it’ll be better tomorrow.

Also, those damn donuts really pissed me off.

Leave a Reply

