Day 11.

Breakfast

On the menu: 4 ounces smoked salmon; 3 ounces plain yogurt; 1/2 cup blueberries; 1 tomato slice.

The reality: 4 ounces peppered smoked salmon; 3 ounces plain yogurt with Splenda and cinnamon; 1/2 cup blueberries; 1 tomato slice.

Summary: A tomato slice? Really? That was random. I almost replaced it with almonds, but I decided to just go with it, see if it surprised me. Turns out slices of tomato are not full of surprises. This did make for quite the colorful breakfast, however. I very much enjoyed eating all that smoked salmon – 4 ounces is a lot. I probably would’ve been fine with 2, but I decided to do as I was told, for once.

Lunch

On the menu: 6-ounce can crabmeat, dressed with 1 tablespoon mayo; 1/2 cup lentil soup; large romaine lettuce salad dressed with olive oil and lemon juice.

The reality: 6-ounce can crabmeat, dressed with 1 tablespoon mayo and a little salt and pepper; 1/2 cup lentil soup; large romaine lettuce salad dressed with olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic, topped with a little parmigiano reggiano.

Summary: Canned crabmeat doesn’t have a lot of flavor to it, so I added some salt and pepper. Next time I think I’ll add lemon juice, or maybe some olive oil – that would probably be tasty. I should get sea salt at some point, but I think kosher salt is acceptable. I also added cheese to the salad because I like it.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 1 hard-boiled egg; 4 cherry tomatoes; 4 almonds.

The reality: 1 hard-boiled egg with a little salt and pepper; 4 cherry tomatoes; 4 wasabi-soy almonds.

Summary: Didn’t I just have a hard-boiled egg yesterday? Oh well… good thing I like them.

Dinner

On the menu: 6 ounces roasted chicken breast; 1/2 cup Manhattan clam chowder; 1/2 cup grilled tomato topped with sliced tomato and 1 tablespoon grated parmesan cheese.

The reality: 6 ounces leftover chicken serenada; 1/2 cup Whole Foods Spicy Manhattan Clam Chowder; 1/2 cup misto alla griglio topped with sliced tomato and 1 tablespoon parmigiano reggiano.

Summary: I was very happy to discover that my leftovers had not gone to waste. The misto alla griglio was really tasty with the tomato and parmigiano reggiano. And I really enjoyed the clam chowder. Mmm. Whole Foods knows what it’s doing.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 1/2 cup cottage cheese; 1/2 cup blueberries; 4 almonds.

The reality: 1/2 cup cottage cheese with a little cinnamon and Splenda; 1/2 cup strawberries; 4 cinnamon almonds.

Summary: Yay! Cottage cheese! But my blueberries went bad… boo.

Today’s Exercise

Walked to and from work, then spent an hour on the stationary bike reading Harry Potter. I burned just over 300 calories on the machine, so it actually wasn’t too bad – this is my favorite exercise when I just feel like being cozy.

Summary

I keep thinking about Russian food and what I’m going to eat on Sunday. I think that’s a sign I’m getting bored with my diet. I’m going to have to get more creative with my cooking, I think. I just got some cookbooks in the mail and fully intend to try them out next week.

Maybe I’ll have dim sum… or Thai food… or sushi. But I’m definitely doing the Russian Easter Sunday thing. Then I’ll go right back to my meal plan on Monday.

Anyway, besides the food boredom, I still feel pretty good. I’m almost out of krill oil, so I ordered more, but I don’t know when that will get here and there may be a few days I go without… we’ll see how that works out.

Leave a Reply

