Day 12.

Breakfast

On the menu: Scrambled eggs (3 egg whites and 1 yolk) with a little chopped onion and green bell pepper; 2 slices turkey bacon; 1/2 cup strawberries.

The reality: Scrambled eggs with a little chopped onion and green bell pepper; 2 slices turkey bacon; 1/2 cup strawberries.

Summary: This was fun. I kind of like chopping in the morning. I do wish I’d utilized less of the onion and green bell pepper, because there ended up being a high veggie-t0-egg ratio, but the flavor was still good. Lots of protein happening this morning! Hopefully it will help me stay awake at work today.

Lunch

On the menu: 3 to 5 ounces of chicken salad (made with 2 ounces chicken saved from last night’s dinner, mixed with chopped red onion and celery, and dressed with 1 tablespoon olive oil and lemon juice) served on a bed of romaine lettuce; sliced tomatoes; 1 cup chicken-vegetable soup.

The reality: 2 ounces Vietnamese-Style Caramel Braised Chicken (yep, still eating those leftovers); romaine lettuce salad with chopped red onion, celery, and sliced tomato, dressed with olive oil and lemon juice; 1 cup chicken-vegetable soup.

Summary: I like my protein warm. Also, the salad wouldn’t have been quite right with that particular chicken recipe.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 1/2 cup plain yogurt; 1/2 cup blueberries; 3 almonds.

The reality: 1/2 cup plain yogurt with cinnamon and Splenda; 1/2 apple; 3 wasabi soy almonds.

Summary: Due to the sudden lack of blueberries, I had to do some substituting. The only fruit at the little convenience store in my work building consisted of fresh apples and canned peaches, so I went for the former. The apple was fairly large, so I chopped it in half and cut it into little pieces (with a plastic knife, I might add). I ended up adding a little more cinnamon and Splenda to the apple pieces and mixing them up with the yogurt. The result was reminiscent of an apple crisp, minus the just-out-of-the-oven part.

Dinner

On the menu: 6 ounces grilled salmon; salad of romaine lettuce, sliced tomato, and avocado, dressed with olive oil and lemon juice; grilled zucchini and mushroom kebabs.

The reality: 6 ounces baked sesame salmon; salad of romaine lettuce, sliced tomato, and avocado, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic; zucchini and mushrooms sauteed in olive oil and garlic.

Summary: The sesame salmon is from Safeway, and it was delicious! They have these individually packed frozen salmon portions (they have lots of other fish, too – I swear, I stared at the freezer case for ten minutes in overwhelmed awe trying to decide how much I could carry home). I don’t have a grill, aside from the George Foreman, so I decided to try a saute, which was also a success.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces tuna salad (water-packed tuna mixed with onion, celery, pepper, and a touch of mayonnaise); 4 almonds; 1 pear.

The reality: 2 ounces tuna salad; 4 Tuscan almonds; 1 pear.

Summary: I was more in the mood for a cottage cheese dessert, but this ended up being yummy. I probably added too much mayo to the tuna salad, but oh well… it was delicious anyway.

Today’s Exercise

I walked to and from work, then I walked to and from Safeway – two miles round trip, one of which is uphill, the other of which was while carrying at least 10 pounds’ worth of groceries. True story. Then I got back and made that ikra, which required chopping and standing.

Summary

I may have snuck a little bit of ikra while I was cooking… and maybe a little parmesan cheese while I was making my lunch for tomorrow… and maybe a little more ikra. It’s going to be a tasty batch, I can tell.

I loved dinner tonight. I was surprised the saute turned out so well, considering I was improvising and that’s usually when my cooking goes awry. I was very pleased with the salmon as well. Definitely a happy food day. I think I’ve been feeling so tired because of the cold, because it often hits me after my walk to work. I wish it would get warm here already. It’s springtime… maybe Seattle didn’t get the memo.

Leave a Reply

