Day 13.

One more day! I’m anxious to see what the scale says on Sunday morning… my measurements are back to where they were before the February cookie-baking craze, so I’m hopeful my weight is at least back to where it was. Regardless, I’m sticking with this eating plan – I like that I’m never hungry and that I get to eat such good food.

Breakfast

On the menu: 2-4 ounces smoked salmon; 1/2 cup plain yogurt; 1/2 cup blueberries; 1 tablespoon chopped almonds.

The reality: 2 ounces peppered smoked salmon; 1/2 cup lowfat plain yogurt with Splenda and cinnamon; 1/2 cup blueberries; 4 cinnamon almonds.

Summary: This was a nice, light breakfast… it also used the last of my smoked salmon for the week and most of the blueberries I just got yesterday. As a side note, are blueberries out of season now? I had some trouble finding them fresh when I was ordering my groceries this morning…

Lunch

On the menu: Grilled chicken breast; green salad topped with 1/2 cup white or soy beans, dressed with olive oil and lemon juice; steamed asparagus.

The reality: Serenada chicken (the remainder of the leftovers from last week; probably about 4 ounces); salad of romaine lettuce, spinach, 1/4 cup chickpeas, 1/4 cup three-bean salad, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice and pesto, topped with 1/2 tbsp shaved parmesan; TJ’s microwaveable asparagus.

Summary: Shockingly, the serenada chicken was still good after a week. I used the rest of the leafy greens (except for a few leaves of spinach, which will probably go in the omelet tomorrow morning). I didn’t want to open another can of beans, so I just used the rest of the chickpeas and filled in the extra space with three-bean salad. I decided to add a little pesto to the dressing, which was yummy, and I got a new container of parmesan on my grocery shopping adventure yesterday, so I decided to utilize it. Last but not least, I love the way Trader Joe’s flavors its microwaveable asparagus – very simple, but quite tasty.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 1 hard-boiled egg; 1/2 cup strawberries; 4 almonds.

The reality: 1 hard-boiled egg seasoned with a little salt and pepper; 1/2 cup strawberries with a little Splenda and sprinkled with cinnamon; 4 wasabi-soy almonds.

Summary: I wanted something dessert-like, so I sweetened the strawberries a bit, which I don’t usually do. I do enjoy salt and pepper on my hard-boiled eggs, but we already knew that. Which reminds me, I need to learn how to make hard-boiled eggs… I’m on my last ready-made one now.

Dinner

On the menu: 6 ounces grilled bluefin or albacore tuna steak; 1/2 cup grilled zucchini, eggplant, and red or green bell pepper lightly drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with 1 tablespoon parmesan cheese; tomato salsa (preferably fresh).

The reality: 6 ounces parmesan crusted tilapia; 1/2 cup zucchini, mushroom, and green bell pepper sauteed in olive oil and garlic and sprinkled with chili pepper flakes and 1 tablespoon parmesan cheese; tomato salsa from TJ’s.

Summary: I didn’t have any eggplant left after the ikra yesterday, so I just did the same saute from yesterday and added bell pepper and a few chili pepper flakes for an extra kick. I enjoyed it. Also, with the fish, I do have tuna, but I didn’t want to defrost the entire pack and have leftovers, so I just baked the tilapia (from Safeway). It didn’t want to come off the baking sheet – it just kind of flaked off – so it looks messy, but it tasted delicious.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 4 almonds; 4 cherry tomatoes.

The reality: 2 ounces sliced turkey breast; 4 Tuscan almonds; 4 cherry tomatoes.

Summary: I had my snack tonight right after half an hour at the gym, while watching Super Size Me and being grateful that I know how to eat well and take care of myself. Just thought I’d throw that in as a side note.

Today’s Exercise

I walked a total of 3.5 miles today – to and from work, then to and from Whole Foods. I also spent half an hour on the stationary bike, once again reading Harry Potter. I’ll probably do more tomorrow – I have a bunch of errands to run and I may get back on the elliptical.

Summary

I’m looking forward to this weekend, when I get some good sleep and cook delicious Russian food – and eat whatever I want on Sunday. However, I’m going right back to this diet on Monday. I ordered groceries and will be running around gathering the rest of my ingredients for the week tomorrow. I do like eating like this. I just need to figure out how to incorporate a little more variety. I miss tacos. And stir-frys.

Leave a Reply

