Day 14.

It’s officially the last day of the two-week feast/diet experiment. Weigh-in tomorrow!

Breakfast

On the menu: Omelet of 3 to 4 egg whites, 1 egg yolk, and a few sliced mushrooms; 1/4 cup steel-cut oats; 4 almonds; 1/2 cup blueberries.

The reality: Omelet of 3 egg whites and 1 egg yolk with a few sliced mushrooms, a handful of spinach, and a sprinkling of feta; 4 cinnamon almonds; 1/2 cup blueberries and strawberries.

Summary: Ah, Saturday morning breakfast – my favorite. By now you should recognize that I love both spinach and some kind of cheese (preferably of the crumbly, goat-originated variety) in my omelets, so those had to be added. I’m once again facing a blueberry shortage, so I used up the rest of the container and supplemented with the few strawberries that still looked viable. Time to go grocery shopping…

Lunch

On the menu: 3-ounce can water-packed tuna; romaine lettuce salad made with 1/2 cup white beans, 1/4 cup feta cheese, 4 cherry tomatoes, and sliced red onion, dressed with olive oil and lemon juice.

The reality: 3-ounce can water-packed tuna flavored with a tiny bit of pesto; romaine lettuce salad made with 1/2 cup navy beans, 1/4 cup feta cheese, 4 cherry tomatoes, and sliced red onion, dressed with olive oil, lemon juice, and a little bit of pesto.

Summary: I really did use very little pesto. Also, I don’t seem to have any white beans, so I figured navy beans would work, too.

Afternoon Snack

On the menu: 1 slice of turkey breast; 4 almonds; 1/2 cup strawberries.

The reality: 1 slice of turkey breast; 4 cinnamon almonds; 1/2 cup strawberries.

Summary: I’d just gotten back from numerous trips to numerous markets, including a visit to Pike Place to pick up strawberries and blueberries. These strawberries were amazing – tasted incredibly fresh, which is more than I can say for the ones I got from Trader Joe’s last week. Fortunately, I got a bunch of ’em. Hopefully the blueberries will be equally delicious. Somehow, I don’t doubt it.

Dinner

On the menu: 4 large shrimp, grilled, baked, or broiled on skewers with mushrooms, onions, and cherry tomatoes; 1/2 cup Cuban black bean soup; romaine lettuce salad dressed with olive oil and lemon juice.

The reality: 4 cooked shrimp with San Francisco seasoning from Whole Foods on a salad of mushrooms, red onion, 4 cherry tomatoes, and romaine, dressed with olive oil and lemon juice; 1/2 cup Cuban black bean soup.

Summary: I hadn’t planned on doing any skewering anyway – I didn’t have the right shrimp for it – and after a day of preparing an Easter feast, I didn’t feel like investing a lot of time in dinner preparation. This was actually quite good and very easy, which was exactly what I was seeking when I started making dinner at 7:30.

Bedtime Snack

On the menu: 1/2 cup cottage cheese; 4 almonds; 1/2 pear.

The reality: 1/2 cup cottage cheese with cinnamon and Splenda; 4 cinnamon almonds; 1/2 pear.

Summary: Last meal of the experiment! And one of my favorites, because I got cottage cheese!

Today’s Exercise

I was quite active today – I walked to and from the market (not far, but it still counts), to Safeway and part of the way back with heavy groceries. I also had many culinary adventures that required a lot of standing, stirring and scooping – not to mention lifting heavy pots full of root vegetables. For conventional exercise, I spent 12 minutes on the stationary bike and 35 minutes on the elliptical to try to make up for the fact that I had to do some taste-tests of the food I was making this afternoon.

Summary

Ah, the last day. I’m anxious to see what effect this has had on my weight tomorrow morning, but I also know that I feel better and my skin is looking really good now. In general, I like what I’ve been eating and I plan on continuing eating this way.

Leave a Reply

