How a hatred of carrots became a tasty treat for my coworkers.

I know, I know. My recipes and I have been mysteriously MIA for the past few days. It’s mostly due to work – that evil, energy-sucking force that takes me away from everything good and happy for five days at a time. I perused new recipes today, however, in the midst of my exasperation with work-related trifles. I believe I would like to make this tomorrow night so I can use up more of that shrimp I got from Whole Foods last weekend. I also really want to try some variation of this at some point; I have rice wrappers and salmon, I think I could put an interesting spin on it (and I do love frying things). I could also make this; I have all the ingredients except the ketchup.

Oh, and I’ve also recently discovered the wonder that is endives. Endives! You can put anything in them and they become healthy little vessels of deliciousness. I’m taking the remainder of the salmon filling from the kulebiaka to work tomorrow in adorable little endive wraps. Next time I make kulebiaka filling, I’ll 1) use olive oil instead of butter, and 2) use endives instead of puff pastry. Or rice wrappers… I haven’t decided.

So much cooking to do… so little time!

Anyway, I was feeling restless and creative earlier today and caved to my baking impulses. Don’t worry, though; it all worked out in my favor. In an effort to get rid of the leftover carrots from the borscht I made this weekend, and to get rid of this granola cereal from Trader Joe’s that I shouldn’t be eating because it’s laden with sugar, I created a recipe for carrot cake cookies – the results of which I will be feeding to my unsuspecting coworkers tomorrow. I know, I’m a hypocrite. Whatever. I really hate carrots, to the point where I believe I’m literally allergic to them, so I know I won’t eat them (nor will I eat the cookies), and I also really hate wasting food.

They’re too orange… I don’t trust them.

I will preface this by reiterating that I really do hate carrots, so try to disregard my obvious bias against these. They smelled quite good while they were baking, doubtlessly due to the cinnamon, sugar, and butter, and I’m sure if you don’t have a severe aversion to the suspiciously orange root vegetable, you would probably enjoy these immensely. If there’s one thing I know, it’s how to bake cookies. I would not lead you astray.

Carrot Cake Cookies
(yields 12 gigantic cookies or 48 tiny ones – I opted for the former) 

Ingredients

2 cups flour (1 1/2 cups all-purpose, 1/2 cup whole wheat)
1 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoons ground ginger
1/4 teaspoon salt
3 shredded carrots (yields about 1 1/2 cups)
3/4 cup water
1/2 cup melted butter
2 eggs
1 cup Trader Joe’s Loaded Fruit and Nut Granola
1 cup chopped blanched almonds
powdered sugar and cinnamon (for decoration)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350˚F. Line cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, mix the flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, ginger, and salt until well blended. Add the grated carrots and stir until thoroughly mixed.

Add the water, butter, and eggs to the mixture and blend with a hand-mixer. When mixture forms a dough, add the granola and almonds and blend thoroughly.

Scoop rounded spoonfuls onto lined cookie sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until bottoms are brown and cookies are set. Allow cookies to cool for a minute before  sprinkling with sugar and cinnamon.

Leave a Reply

