Where were you when…

…you found out about Osama bin Laden’s death?

I, for one, was making pizza with a gluten-free crust. This pizza will now be immortalized in my mind as the Freedom Pizza. Or something. I haven’t yet decided.

I found this crust at Safeway while purchasing mix-ins for my frozen yogurt creations and decided I’d give it a shot.

And then I started dreaming up toppings. Goat cheese? Parmesan? Spinach? Ooo, Italian chicken sausage? What else? So many possibilities…

First, I roasted the garlic. I happened to have a whole head of garlic handy, so I cut the head off, drizzled it with olive oil, wrapped it in aluminum foil and baked it for an hour at 350˚F. While that was roasting, I prepared the other ingredients:

Pesto, capers, sun-dried tomatoes, spinach tossed in olive oil, sauteed onions and mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, goat cheese, parmesan cheese, and sweet Italian chicken sausage.

When the garlic was done roasting, I let it cool for a few minutes…

…then I spread the cloves on the pizza crust and assembled my creation.

Here it is, straight out of the oven:

And then I did some chomping while I listened to Obama’s speech. I was a good girl – I ate slowly and only finished half of it. But it took some serious restraint, because that was some delicious pizza…

Leave a Reply

