You scream! I scream! We all scream for… frozen yogurt?

The weather is getting warmer, and that makes me crave ice cream. You know, the full-fat, multi-topping, Ben & Jerry’s, Coldstone, horribly-bad-for-you-but-oh-so-delicious variety. Who I am I kidding? I really just want it cold and with fun mix-ins.

So I was thinking yesterday: what if I froze yogurt? What would happen? According to these people, you need an ice cream maker to do it right, otherwise it turns into a popsicle, and not in a good way. Okay. So, what is it that ice cream makers do? From what I could gather, they freeze while churning. I can totally do that. Just open up the freezer once and hour or so and stir. Right? Let’s give it a shot.

Long story short? It totally works. I just invented healthy, Perricone-friendly frozen yogurt. Or maybe I reinvented the wheel. Whatever. I have frozen yogurt.

My first creation…

Chocolate Berry Frozen Yogurt

Ingredients

1 cup low-fat plain yogurt
1/4 cup low-fat almond milk
1/2 cup strawberries, chopped
1/2 cup blackberries, crushed
4 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup granulated Splenda
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions

Mix yogurt, almond milk, strawberries, blackberries, cocoa powder, Splenda, and vanilla extract in a small mixing bowl with an electric hand mixer (or by hand, but hand mixers are so much more fun). Pour into a small container with a lid and place in the freezer.

About once an hour, open the lid of the container and stir the mixture, being sure to scrape the frozen edges to the center. It takes about 4 hours to really start freezing. I left it overnight after that point and tossed it in the blender in the morning, then poured it back in the container and put it back in the freezer.

One response to “You scream! I scream! We all scream for… frozen yogurt?

Leave a Reply

