Tortilla pizza!

I had an excessive amount of tortillas yesterday. Fish tacos for lunch, quesadillas for a snack (long story), and then… Well, I’d been wanting pizza for dinner all day, but was hesitant to use my other gluten-free crust, especially since my meals yesterday were less than ideal (especially the quesadillas, because they were with flour tortillas… ugh). And then I realized, I still have those extra thin corn tortillas. But I was sick of Mexican food. What’s a girl to do?

Answer: Make a tortilla pizza!

Ingredients

1 extra thin corn tortilla
about 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1/2-1 ounce goat cheese
a handful of spinach, tossed in olive oil
1 tbsp capers
4 sun-dried tomatoes, chopped
1/4 cup sauteed onions and sliced mushrooms
1 tbsp pesto

Directions

Assemble the pizza: Spread some pesto on the quesadilla and evenly distribute about half of the parmesan cheese over it. Place the spinach evenly over the parmesan layer, then the sun-dried tomatoes; follow with the sauteed onions and mushrooms, then the capers. Sprinkle the remainder of the parmesan over the top, then dot the goat cheese over it.

To cook the pizza, warm a small frying pan on the stove over low-medium heat. When the pan is heated, carefully use a large spatula to place the pizza in the pan. Cook for about five minutes, or until cheese is melted and pizza is warmed through.

It turned out to be a little messy (I probably got a little overzealous with the toppings again), but it was delicious. I added a side of fish for my protein, but I don’t think I needed that much food… it was already quite filling.

Leave a Reply

