Parmesan-Crusted Cod with Garlic Aioli

I made this recipe Wednesday night, partly to distract myself from the interview I had the next day and partly to feed the friend who had just accompanied me to the mani-pedi appointment (which, incidentally, was also meant to distract myself from the impending interview). I took a class at Diane’s Market Kitchen for my birthday last year and remembered she’d cooked a similar recipe with halibut filets. It was cod night, so I decided I’d create my own spin on her recipe.

Parmesan-Crusted Cod with Garlic Aioli

Ingredients

For the cod:

1/4 cup corn starch
1 large organic egg
1 cup panko
1 cup parmesan cheese, finely grated
4 6-ounce cod fillets (without skin)
3 tablespoons olive oil

For the aioli:

4 tbsp light mayonnaise
2 cloves garlic, minced (about 2 tsp)
lemon juice, to taste 

Directions

Set up three bowls. Place the corn starch in the first one; in the second, beat the egg; in the third, combine the panko and parmesan.

First roll the cod fillets in the corn starch, shaking off the excess. Dip both sides in the egg mixture, then roll in the crumb mixture, pressing the fillets so the crumbs stick.

In a medium saute pan, heat olive oil over medium heat. Place the fish in the pan and fry 4 minutes or until browned; carefully flip and fry another 4 minutes until browned.

For the aioli: Combine the mayo, garlic and lemon juice in a small bowl. Taste; add more lemon juice if necessary.

Serve cod immediately with aioli on the side.

Leave a Reply

