Healthy foodie comes clean.

I will literally eat anything. Well, wait, let me qualify that a bit: as long as it can be loosely construed as food, I’ll eat it. This bodes well for my travels, but it does occasionally make it difficult to continue eating healthily.

I made it through college on a diet which consisted of two main food groups: pasta (which does include Top Ramen) and takeout. I did not enjoy cooking unless it involved using two forms of cookware or fewer and/or took less than 30 minutes (half an hour was for “fancy meals,” like the odd occasion I would decide to make spaghetti and broccoli). I always had the potential to be a good cook, but I was too lazy to tap into that potential. And I never bothered to understand or care about how unhealthy the foods I was eating were.

Of course, now that I’ve made the effort to educate myself, I’m at the opposite end of the spectrum: I know too much. To the point where I feel a little twinge of guilt when I deign to eat pasta (which, by the way, is only allowed when in foreign countries) or treat myself to a cappuccino. I’ve gotten a lot more relaxed about it lately, but it’s still a struggle to let it go for a minute without letting it go completely.

I went through a phase in February/March where I was trying – mostly in vain – to come up with healthy versions of desserts. You may have seen this more recently in my healthy frozen yogurt/healthy fudgecicle posts (these desserts are becoming gradually less healthy as I continue to make them, so it may be time to cease and desist). I’ve always been fond of baking cookies, so those were my main vehicle for experimentation. Of course, the best part of baking cookies is eating the dough, so… you can see where this is going. Somewhere bad.

Now imagine this, but applied directly to the thighs.

Last night, I was bored. I was bored and I wanted chocolate; never a good combination. I came across a recipe for oatmeal cookies that didn’t use butter – it used vegetable oil – so I decided to try it and substitute coconut oil and Splenda and add some chocolate and some strawberries… yum. It was pretty tasty, especially right out of the oven. So tasty, in fact, that I ate half the cookies. Yes, half of them. The cookies were gluten free and not that horrible for me, but did I really need to eat half of them? Probably not. There’s something compulsive about my eating habits, especially when it comes to desserts. The Splenda probably contributes to that, and I’m sure it has something to do with an insulin spike… I think I’m going to have to stay away from desserts for awhile. They make me crazy, I tell you.

Leave a Reply

