Brussels sprouts, prosciutto and goat cheese gluten-free pizza.

I made this last night, after doing some serious research on the best way to make a pizza which included brussels sprouts. I found one similar to what I wanted to do – brussels sprouts, pancetta (a fattier but no less delicious version of prosciutto), and parmesan. Except I was out of parmesan, and goat cheese pizzas hold a special place in my heart, so there was that. Plus, I found an extra, unopened log of goat cheese in my refrigerator this weekend – score! – so I should be stocked on goat cheese for the week.

So when I headed up to Safeway yesterday to gather some of the groceries I’d neglected to obtain at Uwajimaya on Saturday, I picked up my favorite ready-made gluten-free crust:

And then I assembled my ingredients…

  • 2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp basil pesto
  • 1/4 cup low fat (2%) shredded mozzarella
  • 1 ounce goat cheese
  • 4 brussels sprouts, ends discarded and leaves separated
  • 1 ounce prosciutto
  • red pepper flakes (to taste)
  • bacon bits (to taste)

I blended the olive oil, garlic, and pesto in a little bowl and spread most of it over the crust (you’re supposed to do this with olive oil alone, according to the crust’s package, but I always jazz it up a bit). Then layer (in this order) most of the mozzarella, prosciutto, brussels sprouts and goat cheese over the crust. Sprinkle the rest of the mozzarella over the toppings, then sprinkle the red pepper flakes and bacon bits on top. This is what mine looked like, pre-baking:

And then post-baking, shortly before it was devoured:

For the record, it was intended to be a personal-sized pizza. Of course, I shouldn’t have eaten it all, especially considering I also had a salad. But… it was too delicious. It had to be destroyed.

Leave a Reply

