Back to the drawing board.

I’m so good when it comes to meals. I know what healthy is supposed to look like, thanks in large part to my mother, not to mention Dr. Perricone. I know what I’m supposed to eat and I eat it. But then… I get rebellious. I think, “I was so good today, I’m going to reward myself with a piece of cake. But I don’t have cake. So I’m going to bake one.” What? That’s stupid, Self. I don’t know why I have this compulsion, but I have it with everything – eating, shopping, reading, everything I enjoy has to be presented to me in bulk. I don’t do “less is more.” I’m sure that’s not entirely normal.

I’ve decided that I have to stage an intervention for myself. I’m going to do a combination of Perriconian food principles and calorie counting/food journaling. I must keep myself honest, and it doesn’t seem like there’s any way to do that other than the food journal. Otherwise I get sneaky.

Today is Day 1. I didn’t take a picture of this breakfast, but I had a two-egg omelet with 2 ounces smoked salmon, cherry tomatoes, and dill, along with 1/2 cup low-fat yogurt with Splenda, vanilla extract and blueberries. I also need to get away from the Splenda. All in good time.

And for funsies, here’s a picture of last night’s wholesome dinner, before I baked the cake:

I so love that Mediterranean chopped salad – it’s from the first Perricone book.

Leave a Reply

