Three-Berry Pie with Olive Oil Shortbread Crust.

I slept in until 11 this morning, something I haven’t done in what seems like a very long time. I had breakfast at noon, then I did something else I hadn’t done in a long time – I sat down and wrote a song, start to finish. I used to do that all the time (Exhibit A), but I haven’t been feeling creative/inspired/what-have-you enough to sit down and write. Everything comes out sounding wrong. But I’m really enjoying this project. Maybe after I get back to my happy weight I’ll even get professional photos taken for my album art. That would be a nice reward, right?

So anyway. (Nice segue, wasn’t it?) Yesterday, one of my employees had a birthday. I’d decided about a month ago that I would make it a tradition to bring in treats for each of their birthdays – it’s practical, because there are only four of them, and it allows me to get my baking fix. For yesterday’s celebration, I baked this berry pie. It started out as olive oil shortbread cookies, but the dough were entirely too crumbly despite my best efforts to keep it together, so I molded it to a pie dish and threw some berries in there. The experiment was a definite success.

Three-Berry Pie with Olive Oil Shortbread Crust

Ingredients:

For the crust
1 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 1/2 cups granulated Splenda
3 cups rice flour
1 tsp almond extract
2 tsp vanilla extract

For the filling
4 cups berries (I used strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries)
1/2 cup granulated Splenda
3 tablespoons cornstarch

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 400˚F. Lightly oil a pie pan; set aside.
2. Make the crust: Mix the olive oil, 1 1/2 cups Splenda and rice flour in a large mixing bowl. Gradually mix in the almond and vanilla extracts. Once ingredients are thoroughly mixed, place dough in the pie pan and spread evenly along the bottom and the sides.
3. Make the filling: Mix the berries, 1/2 cup Splenda and cornstarch in a medium bowl. Evenly pour into crust.
4. Bake pie for 30 minutes, or until crust is golden. Remove from oven and crush berries, then let cool before consuming. I recommend refrigerating the pie – covered – overnight to allow the filling to set.

Leave a Reply

