Creative solutions for chocolate cravings.

I’m doing so well on this round of Perricone meal plans. I’m realizing belatedly that this isn’t supposed to be a temporary fix for the effects of over-eating (as I will admit I was doing), but it’s a lifestyle. I’ve even gotten back into my exercise routine. Yay me.

Despite all my progress, I still can’t seem to get away from my love of sweets. Thankfully, I’ve finally made the switch over to stevia, so at least I’m not potentially poisoning myself with Splenda. But lately I’ve been thinking about chocolate bars. Dr. Perricone says that dark chocolate is okay, even recommended – the darker the better. And unsweetened cocoa powder is great. I keep unsweetened cocoa powder around the house. How convenient! Now, how does one make a chocolate bar? This looks promising…

But, butter? I don’t even keep butter in my apartment. And vegetable oil is a questionable choice. So… wait. I know! Olive oil! And it would be so healthy! I could put some stevia in there for sweetener, too. And vanilla extract, and orange extract… oh boy. I decided to try it.

After several hours in the refrigerator, I consider it a success. So much so that I decided to share it. I think Dr. Perricone would be proud.

The challenge will be not eating it all in one sitting.

Healthy Dark Chocolate Bar

Ingredients:

6 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 cup (12 packets) stevia
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 tsp orange extract (optional)

Directions:

1. Mix the cocoa powder, stevia, and olive oil in a small bowl. Once the mixture is the consistency of melted chocolate, mix in the extracts.

2. Spread mixture into pre-formed container lined with parchment paper. Refrigerate or freeze for a few hours, until the bar is solid.

3. Wrap in parchment paper and aluminum foil to store.

Leave a Reply

