Juice fasting, Day 1.

After many months away from the blogosphere, I’m embarking on a new food adventure: juicing! My mother got me a beautiful Omega juicer for Christmas, and I’ve found that I really enjoy fresh veggie juice – and after watching Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead, I’ve decided to attempt a juice fast of indeterminate duration. I bought Cherie Calbom’s Weekend Weight-Loss Diet not too terribly long ago, so I’m using that as kind of a guide. Kind of. The thing I’ve found about juicing is that you can juice almost anything as long as you put an apple in there – it still tastes good. Of course, I haven’t juiced everything. I’m sure my statement is not universally true. I just haven’t found anything to prove it false yet.

To get this out of the way: I’m not doing this because I think I’m heavy and desperately need to lose weight as quickly as possible. I’m doing this for my health. A juicing fast is really only slightly different than a raw vegan diet, except I think I actually get more micronutrients from juicing than just eating (nobody can eat that many vegetables). This is all part of my mission to take better care of myself – mind, body, and soul. I don’t know how long I’m going to do this. Maybe just the weekend, maybe ten days… who knows? I will listen to my body. If it tells me I need to do something different, I will.

Meanwhile, I’ll leave you with a pretty picture of one of the many juices I made today:

Leave a Reply

