Juice fasting, day 2.

Day 2. What should I say about day 2? I slept until 1:30 in the afternoon, which I would consider odd, except for the fact that I hadn’t gotten sufficient sleep on Saturday due to the fact that the construction crew decided 9 a.m. was the appropriate time to begin their insipid hammering on my deck. 9 a.m. would not have been very early, except that I got home shortly after 1 a.m. that very same morning.

I was out of coffee (I am not giving up coffee on this fast, in case you were wondering), so I had some tea and a glass of juice and hiked up to the Peet’s on Broadway to get more beans. Not surprisingly, the lack of food seems to be taking its toll on my energy levels, but I still made it up the hill in one piece. I actually think the exercise helped today. I haven’t felt hungry all day. I’ve had four 8-ounce glasses of varying kinds of juice today. I think. I pretty much just made it when I was hungry and didn’t keep track.

Another thing I’m doing with this fast: eating miso soup. I have it, and I think I read somewhere that vegetable broth was okay, so I’m really only varying that slightly. I find that I miss the routine of dinner and it makes for a nice warm savory treat. Plus, miso soup is good for you. I think. I remember hearing that somewhere.

I’m dreading work tomorrow, because I just know it will be another busy day and I don’t feel like I got a full weekend (especially after having to work on Saturday). I am, however, looking forward to my second Italian class on Wednesday. Did I mention I’m taking Italian? Not for any particular reason, just for fun and to keep me entertained. I love languages.

The fast continues tomorrow. I’ve already made my juices for the day. I think I’m going to try to continue it through the end of the week – if I do, I’m going to weigh myself on Saturday, and depending what the results are, I may continue for another week. We shall see.

Leave a Reply

