Breaking the second juice fast, Day 3.

Well, I made it two and a half days before I was absolutely craving a salad. The need to chew overpowered me. And I figured it would be wise to break the fast before I started craving something really bad, like cheesecake or a hamburger (I don’t even like burgers, that wasn’t really a danger). So I had a Heavenly Salad with smoked salmon from The Juicy Cafe. It was delicious. If you work in downtown Seattle, you should check out this place – they also make wonderful juice, and I’m sure their smoothies are also quite delicious.

Anyway, now that I’m done with the fast, I’m committed to once again eating healthy. I get lazy and reclusive on occasion and make things like shirataki noodles with lots of cheese and random vegetables, which I guess is fine, but eating that much cheese wreaks havoc on my skin and is, frankly, not all that great for me. I haven’t been eating enough protein and my non-veggie carbs are a little high. I recently discovered Kamut Puffs – 50 calories per cup! – and, while better than most other snack foods, going through a bag a day is not great. Calorie counting only works if you’re also monitoring your macronutrients, and I do better with a higher protein diet.

The problem I discovered with the fast yesterday was that I didn’t have the energy to work out, and I’ve grown attached to my gym time lately. Working out makes me feel good, and I was a little bummed yesterday when I couldn’t. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with doing a juice fast every other day, or once or twice a week, and I may do that, but it’s too difficult to maintain for more than a day or two.

Lesson learned! I’m resolved to take better care of myself and monitor my macronutrients more carefully. If I get tired of the food I’m eating again, or my eating habits get out of control, I can always do a one- or two-day reset with the juice – but next time, definitely over a weekend. Weekends are soooo much easier.

Leave a Reply

