I love healthy food blogs.

Pictures of food… people writing about food… people writing about getting healthy… it all makes me so happy. It also provides a welcome distraction during my otherwise hectic workday.

I’m doing another juice fast today. It was either that or make a lunch and bring it into the lunch meeting I had at work (complete with the requisite pizza and not-too-healthy salad). I chose the juice fast because my leafy greens were in danger of going bad, and there were just too many to eat all in one day, so I juiced them. Juicers are handy like that.

Honestly, I wasn’t even tempted by the pizza today. I occasionally have weak, pizza-craving tendencies, but after seeing what eating all that cheese did to my skin (major breakout, ick), the whole idea of eating that much cheese is really off-putting. Also, the grease, and the bread. I really prefer thin crust – better yet, cornmeal crust, and I like more gourmet-like pizzas, the kind that contain things like goat cheese and pesto and spinach. Mmmm. That kind of pizza would have been tempting. But, snob that I am, mozzarella and pepperoni on a thick, starchy, white flour crust did not tempt me into submission.

It looks like it’s shaping up to be a beautiful day today, but that’s based on the view from my office window. I’m sure once I venture outside that it will be quite chilly, like it was yesterday. I’m so sick of winter. It doesn’t even matter that it’s the second day of spring; it’s still winter in Seattle. Bleh.

I’ve been preoccupied with planning my birthday festivities this week, to the point where it’s difficult to think about anything else. My mom will be here on Friday afternoon and wants to finally meet some of my coworkers (last time she was here, I had just been promoted and didn’t want to be parading my mommy around the office – all my colleagues are at least fifteen years older and I was trying to avoid drawing attention to my already glaringly obvious youth. Seriously. I’m also younger than my employees). The birthday party is on Saturday – a larger-than-expected group of friends and I are going to karaoke. We’re talking serious karaoke, because that’s how I roll. I was putting together my setlist during the lunch meeting. It’s just too bad I’ll probably have to share the mic – one of the many disadvantages of inviting so many people to karaoke.

The challenge this weekend will be to continue eating well. I already plan on doing another juice fast at some point next week, because I know how my mom usually influences my eating habits; the key will be not going overboard. I have to remember how much better I feel when I eat the way I’ve been eating: salmon, veggies, fruit, eggs, no bread, no pasta, no rice (I know it’s gluten free, but it’s one of the things I tend to overeat because it’s not exactly nutrient-rich). Of course, I’m fully prepared to indulge on Saturday night. I have yet to decide whether to order delicious specialty cocktails or stick to my favorite new low-calorie drink, Diet Coke and vanilla vodka (surprisingly good – tastes like a root beer float, I think, although it’s been ages since I’ve had a root beer float). Diet Coke, I know, is not great, nutrition-wise, but I’ve never been a big soda drinker, so I don’t think it will hurt me. I will, however, accept suggestions on slightly more sophisticated low-calorie drinks. Another one I’ve heard of is Diet Sprite & vodka (is it Diet Sprite or Sprite Zero? Am I getting my fizzy clear sodas confused?), but apparently bars in Seattle have a hard time stocking diet sodas. Anyway, the point is, if I keep it low-calorie I can drink more without as much guilt. Something to ponder.

Okay. At this point I’m just rambling, and I keep snoozing a reminder, so I should probably get going on the thing it’s reminding me to do. Back to work!

Leave a Reply

