Whole30, Days 1-3.

So. Hi. I’ve been doing some Whole30-ing. It’s currently Day 3, although I’ve been doing this for about two weeks. Explain? Sure.

A friend of mine, who lives on the East Coast, let me know he would be visiting San Francisco. He told me a few weeks ago, while I was still planning on a September 1 start date for Whole30, and he was here last week, so I had to move my start date back a few days. But I was so excited to start Whole30 after Perricone that I… did. I basically did a Whole8 (8/26-9/3). I then took a few days to properly recover from my friend’s visit and started the “official” Whole30 on Saturday… although to be fair, Friday was also Whole30 compliant. That’s how I roll.

Anyway. Now that you have the background…

This official round of Whole30 is not as easy and enjoyable as the first. I think I got a little too comfortable making omelets stuffed with everything in the fridge for breakfasts and my tastebuds have acclimated. This morning, I made my very first paleo breakfast scramble. It had two eggs, and some sweet potato (my love affair with sweet potato continues), ground beef (grass-fed!) and lamb (my next love affair will be with lamb), and… some other things. Ghee! Ghee is amazing. Let me ask, is it “djee” or “gee”? Hard “g” or soft? I have no clue how to pronounce it and have to resort to calling it “clarified butter.” It’s either that or pointing and grunting.

Anyway, I’m posting all my Whole30 meals on Instagram if you want to follow me. Warning: They’re not all pretty. I’m usually more concerned with shoveling the food directly into my mouth rather than making it look presentable. I also think that’s totally reasonable.

I actually had a pretty exciting dinner, too. I made paleo pesto (my own “recipe”… err, random assembling of basil and things and borrowing my roommate’s immersion blender) and combined it with spaghetti squash and salmon and mushrooms. I also roasted some cauliflower and heated up a sweet potato with some ghee. I feel like I’m eating all the things, so it’s a good thing I go to the gym most days.

It’s Day 3. How do I feel? Sleepy. According to today’s email, that’s normal. My tummy is also not super pleased with me, but I suspect it’s because I got into the cashew and coconut butters last night (they’re like crack, especially together. Do not put them together, you will lose all sense of good and evil). I had a somewhat decent workout this morning, although I only ran three miles in addition to my three Jillian Michaels circuits, and I really would’ve preferred four miles. Perhaps tomorrow. I hope this sleepy stuff goes away quickly – my classes started last Thursday and I have homework due Sunday that I still haven’t started. Whoopsies. Here’s my motto: Procrastinate now! Don’t put it off!

Alright. I’m sleepy. It’s 8:45, so obviously that means it’s time for bed.

Leave a Reply

